Bridgewater Township was set off from Hixon Township in 1832. The remainder became Manchester Township in 1837. By 1850 there were two settlements, River Raisin and Bridgewater. Each had a railroad station and a post office. The River Raisin community no longer exists.
In 1856 the first town hall opened at on the site at 10990 Clinton Road, Manchester , Michigan. It was used for "moral and scientific lectures and for funerals." The present hall was built in 1882 and appears on the Michigan Register of Historic Sites. It has been in continuous use as the site of township meetings, elections and social functions since that time.
There are two fire departments that service the residents of the township and both are volunteer fire departments, Clinton and Manchester. There are three school districts within the boundaries of the township: Clinton Community Schools, Manchester Community Schools and Saline Area Schools. The township has three District Libraries—Clinton, Manchester and Saline—that serve its community.
The Hamlet of Bridgewater is a mix of businesses and residents. These include St. Johns Lutheran Church, the General Store and Post Office, the Bridgewater Bank Tavern, the Candy and Antique Mill, Lumber Company, Tire Service, Service Center, Craftsmen Shop, and Packaging Company, all nestled in a growing agricultural community.
Two main roads, Austin Road and Michigan Avenue, are used daily by residents and travelers. Come visit this community nestled between Saline, Clinton and Manchester and enjoy the beauty that the changing seasons bring.